This year we are blessed to have five new school administrators for the 2019-2020 school year. Last school year (2018-2019) we had 19 new administrators, 10 principals, and nine early childhood directors. Of the 10 principals, seven of the 10 were the first person our schools called, and the other three were the second person the schools called. It is a great testament to our outstanding congregations and schools, and to call committees who did their work, guided by the Holy Spirit, exceptionally well.

Denise Pennington, Early Childhood Director, Grace Lutheran Church, and Early Childhood Center, Killeen. Denise is a long-time member of Grace and accomplished administrator in the Killeen Independent School District. Denise follows Naomi Matthys who served in Lutheran education for 35 years including 30 at Grace, Killeen.

Gina Fingleman, Early Childhood Director, Epiphany, Houston. Gina has served as a teacher at Epiphany. She also has served as a board member for Concordia Lutheran High School, Tomball. Gina follows Nancy Danna who served at Epiphany for 31 years.

Jon Fraker, Principal, Epiphany, Houston. Jon comes from Zion, Walburg, where he served under two outstanding administrators, Steve Glandorf, and the current award-winning principal at Zion, Tom Wrege. In addition to completing his Masters in Educational Administrator, Jon has also completed the Synodical Leadership Program – Strengthening Leadership Development, SLED. Jon follows long time Lutheran administrator, Tim Miesner. Tim continues to serve on the Texas District Board of Directors.

Randy Eimen, Executive Director or LEAH Schools, leading Lutheran High North, Houston; Lutheran South Academy, Houston; and Westlake Prep Lutheran Academy, Katy. Randy had previously been an administrator in Michigan, Indiana, Texas, and most recently served as the Executive Director at St. Johns Lutheran Church and School, Orange, California. When Randy served in Texas he also served as the chairman of the Lutheran School Accreditation Commission, LSAC.

Heidi Jerry, Principal, St. Mark, Houston. Heidi comes to St. Mark from Christ Lutheran Church and School, Little Rock, Arkansas, where she served as Principal. Heidi was originally called to Christ, Little Rock, when Dr. Becky Schmidt, our current LCMS Director of Schools, was the principal. Heidi follows Dallas Lusk who accepted the call to be the Executive Director of St. Mark Lutheran Church and School, Houston.

We thank God for these five outstanding leaders that He has called to lead here in the Texas District at such a crucial time for students and their families. Please keep Denise, Gina, Jon, Randy, and Heidi and their teams in your prayers. Please keep your children, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, children in your congregations, and your communities in your prayers.