

August 2024

Dear Texas District LCMS Pastors,

Greetings in the name of Christ, the Lord of the Church!

Planning has begun for the 63rd Convention of the Texas District, scheduled for June 5-7, 2025 at Gloria Dei Lutheran Church in Houston. Through this email, the 2025 District Convention Nominating Committee invites and encourages your participation in the nominating process.

The responsibility of the District Nominating Committee is to gather and prepare nominations for positions on Texas District boards and committees, and the district secretary. (Nominations for the positions of district president and vice presidents are handled separately and managed by the District Secretary, Rev. Dr. Brian Hesse. Those nomination ballots, which can only be submitted by member congregations of the district, will be mailed on October 4, 2024.)

In this process the eligible voting members of Synod (pastors and congregations) may submit nominations. Therefore, your congregation president/chairman will also receive a letter with details regarding the nomination process and inviting the congregation's participation in this process.

Nomination forms for board and committee positions and the district secretary position, as well as descriptions for these positions, are available for download in PDF format at https://txlcms.org/2025-texas-district-convention/. The PDF files are formatted by regional area (A, B, C, D), with each file containing information about the offices for which you are eligible to nominate and the nomination form for those offices. (Please note that some nominations are area specific. So, it is of upmost importance that one use only the forms for the geographic area in which you serve. For your reference, lists of pastors by Area A, B, C and D are available on the District convention website noted above.)

To retrieve and submit the nomination packet and forms appropriate for your location, go to <u>https://txlcms.org/2025-texas-district-convention/</u>, click on the appropriate "Nomination Forms" link for your district geographical area, e.g. Area A, B, C or D, complete the downloadable forms, and return the forms according to the instructions included in the PDF file. *Please note that hard copies of these forms will not be mailed to you*. If, however, for some reason you are not able to download the PDF file, please contact Cindy Hilewitz in the President's Office at <u>chilewitz@txlcms.org</u> to request a set of nomination forms for your use.

In this process, we urge you prayerfully to consider and nominate those who are full of the Spirit and wisdom that our District may follow the pattern of the early church for the sake of the Gospel (Cf. Acts 6).

Texas District of The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod

1221 Satellite View | Round Rock, TX 78665 | P: 512.926.4272 | TF: 800.951.3478 | F: 512.926.1006 www.txlcms.org

The following timetable has been adopted in conformity with the District Handbook and according to practical deadlines:

August 4, 2024 - Nominations Open November 4, 2024 - Nominations Close

- Cf. Texas District Bylaw 4.031 reads:
- a. The nominations committee shall meet early enough so that approximately ten months before the convention it can solicit nominations and information about nominees from congregations, pastors, and circuit visitors. The nominations committee shall be briefed on explicit procedures and requirements of the handbook in their first meeting by the secretary of the district.
- b. The nominations committee shall seek to include in its nominations for all elected positions representatives from each of the major racial groups in Texas, especially giving attention to the major boards of the district (board of directors and board of mission administration).

Pastors, in addition to the submission of your own nominations, please encourage your congregations to be involved in this process. <u>All nominations must be completed and returned by November 4, 2024</u>.

After nominations are received, consent and information forms will be requested of those nominated. Nominees will need to have completed and returned those forms by January 8, 2025 in order for the individual to be considered by the Nominating Committee.

If you have questions about the nominating process, please contact any member of the Nominating Committee. We pray for God's guidance on all that is done and for His blessing on all who will be nominated and elected.

God's blessings as you serve the Lord!

Rev. Kevin J. Hintze Nominating Committee Chairman

ORD-A	Rev.	Robert	Pase	Our Savior	Abilene
ORD-B	Rev.	Kevin	Hintze	Zion	Walburg
ORD-C	Rev.	Bill	Knippa	Bethany	Austin
ORD-D	Rev.	Jon	Salminen	Epiphany	Pearland
COMM	Mr.	Paul	Krentz	Narrative	Georgetown
COMM	Mr.	Keith	Lund	Grace	Dennison
LAY	Mrs.	Kelly	Bernhardt	Prince of Peace	Amarillo
LAY	Mr.	Gary	Juhl	Concordia	San Antonio
LAY	Ms.	Donna	Snow	Salem	Tomball

2025 DISTRICT NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Texas District of The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod

1221 Satellite View | Round Rock, TX 78665 | P: 512.926.4272 | TF: 800.951.3478 | F: 512.926.1006 www.txlcms.org